my dear, sweet grandfather

8 Oct

It is with great sadness that I write this today. My grandfather passed away yesterday afternoon. I know it was for the best, because the last month, let alone years, he had been really struggling and was in a lot of pain. He had all his best girls with him, his wife, my mom, my aunt, my sister, myself, and my daughter, when he passed. And his caregiver, Narcisse, was by his side. So he was not alone when he left this world. That makes me happy to know that he had us all there with him.

I’ve been fortunate enough to have all my grandparents up until this point. I will miss him so much. He   was the best kind of man out there. And he was the best provider a family could ever have. Because of him, my grandmother will never have a want. Because of him, I was able to go to the college of my dreams and not have to worry about how I was going to pay for summer school or my rent. He was always there giving help all around him, when we needed it.

He was a tough man. I remember for the longest time being scared of him because he was just so stern. I know he was this way because he loved us, and wanted us to succeed, like he had succeeded.

I’m going to miss my grandfather more than words can ever even describe… I hope that when and if I eventually have a son, that he can follow in my grandfather’s  footsteps, and succeed in anything he wants.

I love you grandpa. Thank you for everything you’ve ever done for me, my mom, my dad, my aunt, my sister, my daughter, my brother, my cousin… and all you’ve done for grandma to assure that she lives a comfortable life without you by her side. I will miss you always.

RIP John Bracco, Jr. (grandpa)
May 20, 1927- October 7, 2012
Leave a Reply

