valentine’s day, friends, & updates

20 Feb

last week, my friend and fellow mom, Rochelle, came over with her adorable son, Hudson. Boy, is that boy full of energy and spunk! He slapped Lux in the face, so since he showed his love, she wasn’t down to be around with him. She pretty much cried the whole time they were over, so I put her down for a nap. I should really be thanking him, because she slept a WHOLE two hours! I was only able to get one decent photo of the two, since she wasn’t really friendly with him after the whole slap in the face thing. 

Image

 

 

 

this valentine’s day marked russell & i’s third together. we have always done the same thing: stay in and make this eggplant dish that he made me for our first valentine’s day. it never fails because it is SO good. i’ve been meaning to do a post about it and put the recipe up, but i’ve been lazy. this year, we planned the same thing, but i wanted to go the extra mile… so i decorated the table we have and got him a special present. I bought him a whiskey decanter, with four double whiskey glasses, whiskey stones (which are REALLY cool, they act as ice in your whiskey, they don’t melt so it doesn’t water down your whiskey–i think russell likes the idea of them rather than the stones itself, but i know he appreciates it!) and I figured you can’t buy a whiskey set without whiskey so bought him jameson reserve to go with it. 

Image

 

 

i think he was really surprised! he got me the roses and picked up the champagne… oh, and that bottle of pinot noir called gypsy boots. AMAZING! So smooth and so delicious! it was overall just a relaxing, nice evening with the two of us (Lux went off to bed with no issues, at a decent time!–thank you baby!)

 

Over this last weekend it was president’s day weekend. Our close friends, Matt & Victoria came over with their baby, Leah (remember, it’s pronounced Leia). I made a marinade for a Hawaiian Rib eye, baked potatoes, and green beans. The boys worked on my car which was out of commission, and then BBQ’d the ribeyes. It turned out pretty good, I must say. And as always, Costco has the best meat. EVER. Leah is getting so big, and cute as ever!

Image

 

 

lux has been getting into all sorts of trouble, crawling and sitting up… and even STANDING up. Russell and I just bought her a sippy cup, which she still is getting use to, I mean she doesn’t drink on her own I have to hold it… but she knows how to get water out of it. She eats pretty much every food, like a champ! I even bought some Gerber Graduate cereal puffs. She’s feeds them to herself, still learning how to pick things up and learning how to chew. I can’t believe she’s almost 7 months old. Yikes. I didn’t believe people when they said they grow up fast. They really do! 

 

Leave a Reply

